January 14, 2009

  •                                                              

    Haven’t written in while!

    It is bitter cold here, with wind chills in the -25 thru -35 range.  We won’t even get
    an air temp above zero today-tomorrow’s supposed to be worse.  We hardy
    Minnesotans still get out and about for appts and shopping.  The poor ole nose sure bears
    the brunt of the wind and cold!

    Have had some deja vu stuff going on, (unless it’s my poor memory, acting up).
    Some ESP runs in my family, and I totally believe in the
    supernatural.  What things have you had happen to you?
    I had an experience when I was under for heart surgery.
    Didn’t know if it was med-produced or when my heart stopped,
    but I dreamt I opened a white door, in an all-white area,
    and people were smiling and partying and all wearing white.
    It was like an all-white ‘Moulin Rouge.’

    A poem you say?  Haven’t written one in quite a while, I will
    try, off the top of my head.

    My fear is in loving a man,
    losing my freedoms
    making room for decisions
    do I have it in me?

    Can I see two
    when years of one have been?
    is it my ‘duty’ to sacrifice
    my golden years
    of picking up socks?

    I crave the silence,
    I crave the alone time
    when chaos rules
    and others’ voices are shutup.

    I’m independent and stubborn on my own
    I’m willful and rebellious
    and sometimes angered at differences.
    I’m number one!

    There, that did it-ok.

    Want to hear clips of music?

    Here is some:

    The K&D Sessions
    Kruder & Dorfmeister
    1998

    Viennese DJs Kruder & Dorfmeister helped teach the raver world to chill with this iced, heady concoction of downtempo, drum ‘n’ bass, and trance-tinged hip-hop; it’s become a true classic of downtempo electronica. The K&D Sessions evokes a time during the late 1990s when trip-hop was sweeping New York, Los Angeles, and Europe. DJs played in retro-décor-filled cocktail lounges, spinning for the thrift store chic hipsters and future James Bonds of downtown. Peter Kruder and Richard Dorfmeister used tracks from other DJs and groovy 1980′s stuff like Depeche Mode as the canvas to create new works of art, trailblazing their way through the clubbing throngs and back to the VIP room, where they’ve saved you a seat on the comfiest couch.

    A remix of Roni Size’s “Heroes” opens the double-disc set with a shuffling beat, deep-bottom synth bass, echoed-out female-vocal samples and a swooping 303 bass line. “Jazz Master” takes 1960′s sexy Italian-cinema grandeur and filters it through the drum ‘n’ bass spectrum until the song echoes like a dream. The deep bass notes in “Speechless” will root your spine to the center of the earth while drum and bass rhythms cascade over everything like rain. Bomb the Bass’ Justin Warfield steps to the mic for “Bug Powder Dust,” which is steeped in Williams S. Burroughs references but also finds time to reference everything from the Australian 1980′s band Men at Work to obscure films like the 1979 astrology/basketball movie, The Fish That Ate Pittsburgh. That mix of the otherworldly and retro-friendly pervades the album, coaxing open the door between the comfortable and the unknowable.

    Disc two assumes that by now you’ve floated pretty far out, and K&D are in no hurry to bring you back. “Bug Powder Dust” gets a deep space re-remix, and “Boogie Woogie” and “Lexicon” (both original K&D compositions) are so chill that they stop time cold. By now the sun must be coming up, and whether you are part of the scene that spawned this album, you’re doing the postrave chill session, the deep headphone-voyaging, or just using this as aural wallpaper while you clean your house, you can’t help but feel cool to have this music on.

    Listen to all sound clips from this CD
  • “Jazz Master”
  • “Bug Powder Dust”  Click on all of these!!
  • “Speechless”


  • Buy this CD

    I am reading a book called ‘Nice’.  It’s like Bridget Jones goes mad.
    This young lady murders men after she dates them, but it is done with
    humor and wit. 

    Keep warm!!

    I love you!!

Comments (9)

  • Great stuff for just being off the top of your head!

    Loved it!

  • Now that’s a wild picture.  We’re having the same weather…. COLD! 

    Stay warm dear one!  :sunny:

  • I definitely am in synch with the poem.  I also don’t know if I want a relationship that would make me a partner for life.  I like myself and I enjoy myself.  I enjoy other people, but at times.  I’m not sure I could live with someone full time.

    As for the book “Nice”.  If I were to be dated and then murdered, I would definitely want it done with humor.  (smile)

  • The temps here are similar…brutal cold.

  • :goodjob: Great  poem!!!  Sunsetheart

  • :sunny:  Makes it sound like our 3* is a heat wave, try to stay warm, your poem was really nice, I can relate

  • Oh brrrrrrrrrrrr cold.  I like the write. How are you other than that. I have some esp stuff in my family too. I think we all do. Judi

  • I work in and out of a freezer all night so I am no fan of winter. The only good thing about the rising electric rates is the company raised the temp in the freezer to minus ten. It was minus forty. I hate the cold.

    stay warm

    elliott610

  • This time of year, the holidays and shortly after, are conducive to bringing back memories – good or bad. And your poem is touching. It expresses some well placed fears familiar to me as well. Thanks for putting them in words for us all to contemplate. And enjoy the January thaw. I hope it’s a harbinger of some inner gifts of warmth: unexpected, sensitive, sweet, and soon to be yours.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *