April 12, 2012

  • Buddhism

    Studying Buddhism, as I have always like the simplicity-and exploring other venues.  I am currently reading ‘Zen Mind, Beginner’s Mind’ by Suzuki.  Also have 2 other books that I am interested in reading.  I feel, more than a religion, that it is a discipline, a way of life.  Meditation is a large part of Buddhism, and is important to me for centering and mindfulness, as well as bringing a sense of peace.

    I was baptised Lutheran, confirmed Congregationalist, then ‘turned’ Catholic a month before marrying for the first time.  I don’t necessarily believe wholly (sic) in any one religion.  Nature is my thing.  I have explored other faiths, in the past, but am not a church-goer.

    I will be going to a meditation center, called Common Ground, this Sunday morning at 8 am.  They have 1/2 hour sessions of walking or sitting mindfulness meditation!  I am looking forward to this immensely!

    Meanwhile, I went to the Walker Art Center, on Tuesday, and saw the ‘Lifelike’ exhibit, as well as others-really enjoyable, and humorous!  Wednesday, I attended a book club at Vail Place.  We discussed the book, ‘The Seventeen Second Miracle,’ a life-changing story!

    Today has been pretty quiet, but have enjoyed the peacefulness.  Saturday, I will be going to a memorial for my uncle Donn.  He passed away not too long ago, but he had a very full life, and did a lot of writing, along with his wife, Nancy.

    Waiting for all the flowers outside to bloom, it won’t be too long, then I can start taking more photos!

    I still want to move to Tampa-NEED to be near the ocean, and palm trees year-round. It will be a joyous ‘homecoming’ as I feel that is where I belong.  Will need to sell off a lot of things, but I want to start fresh, with little belongings-simplicity.

     

     

Comments (8)

  • Oh so sorry about your uncle Laurie.. and I am glad things are starting to bloom..always makes everything come alive with color and smells and beauty all around…peaceful too..like what you are studying..sounds like you found something you like that works for you..that’s what matters..and I’ll be hoping you manage to get your ‘ocean and palm trees’ one of these days :) Hope you are feeling better and less lonely my friend…take good care..hugs..love Lee

  • What bring you peace is good , Laurie, inn waiting for the Florida .
    Love

    Michel

  • I like the practice of Buddhism also.  I feel we can truly benefit from meditating and focusing and employing mindfulness.

    However I do have a problem witht the beliefs of Buddhism where it is more of a religion than a practice.  I do not believe in the separation of roles where one group is “holier” than another group just because they are monks.  I don’t believe in the religious caste system.  (This also goes for Catholics and Protestant religions where the ministers, Bishops, Popes, etc are considered on a different “holy” level than the average joe blow.)  I also cannot believe in reincarnation like some Buddhists believe (not all of them). 

    So if I just stick with the practice, I like Buddhism very much.  Just not their religious beliefs.

  • where’s the “like” button?

  • @curiousdwk - 
    I understand what you mean!!

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *